Sign in / Join

“Cameron Post” wins Sundance’s top prize

Ⓒ AFP/Archivos – Angela Weiss – | American actress Chloë Grace Moretz attends the premiere of “The Miseducation Of Cameron Post” at the independent film festival of Sundance, on January 22, 2018 in Park City, Utah (USA)

“The Miseducation of Cameron Post,” a drama about gay conversion therapy by director Desiree Akhavan, won the top prize of the Sundance Film Festival that culminated this Sunday.

With Chloe Grace Moretz as protagonist, the film delighted and impressed the audience at its world premiere in the mountains of Utah with the story of a teenager who is forced to undergo therapy after being discovered having sex with a school graduation queen .

“On behalf of the entire ‘Cameron Post’ team we want to dedicate this award to the survivors of the LGTB community for conversion therapy,” said Moretz.

Desiree Akhavan left a recorded acceptance message that could not be reproduced due to technical problems.

The film “Kailash”, about the crusade of a man to end child slavery, won the prize for best American documentary, while the prize of the audience for the best film in the US was taken by Andrew Heckler’s “Burden” .

The prize for the best documentary director in the USA was taken by Alexandria Bombach for “On Her Shoulders,” a portrait of a Yazidi girl who survived sexual slavery at the hands of the Islamic State group, while the audience prize in this category was He took it “The Sentence.”

“Butterflies” won the grand jury award for best international film while “Of Fathers and Sons,” on the jihadist radicalization in the home, by the celebrated Syrian filmmaker Talal Derki, won in the category of international documentary.

The Sundance Film Festival, founded by actor Robert Redford, is a showcase for independent films, and its winners are often critically acclaimed, while the show serves as a springboard for other Hollywood awards.

Between the titles of the edition 2017 of the tapes that could obtain trophies in several ceremonies of Hollywood appear “Get Out”, of Jordan Peele, that was exhibited outside competition.

The black comedy has four Oscar nominations, including best film, best director and best screenplay.

“Call Me by Your Name,” which director Luca Guadagnino took to the Sundance edition last year, also has four nominations, including best film.

“Mudbound”, by Dee Rees, who took Netflix for $ 12.5 million at last year’s festival, has Oscar nominations for best adapted screenplay, best supporting actress, best direction for photofraphics and best original song.

Here is a list of the prizes at the Sundance festival:

– Drama USA –

Grand Jury Prize: “The Miseducation of Cameron Post”

Audience Award: “Burden”

Direction: Sara Colangelo, “The Kindergarten Teacher”

Screenwriting Award Waldo Salt: Christina Choe, “Nancy”

Special jury prize for the first outstanding presentation: Reinaldo Marcus Green, “Monsters and Men”

Special jury prize for excellence in realization: Reed Morano, “I Think We’re Alone Now”

Special jury prize in acting: Benjamin Dickey, “Blaze”

– Documentary USA-

Grand Jury Prize: “Kailash”

Audience Award: “The Sentence”

Address: Alexandria Bombach, “On Her Shoulders”

Special prize of the jury of social impact: “Crime + Punishment”

Special jury prize for creative vision: “Hale County This Morning, This Evening”

Special jury prize for storytelling: “Three Identical Strangers”

Special jury prize for the first successful performance: “Minding the Gap”

– Foreign cinema –

Grand Jury Prize: “Butterflies”

Audience Award: “The Guilty”

Direction: Isold Uggadottir, “And Breathe Normally”

Special jury prize for action: Valeria Bertuccelli, “The Queen of Fear”

Special jury prize for script: Julio Chavezmontes and Sebastian Hofmann, “Timeshare”

Special jury prize for joint performance: “Dead Pigs”

– Foreign documentary –

Grand Jury Prize: “Of Fathers and Sons”

Audience Award: “This is Home”

Direction: Sandi Tan, “Shirkers”

Special jury prize for masterful narration: Steven Loveridge, “MIA”

Special edition jury prize: “Our New President”

Special prize of the photography jury: Maxim Arbugaev, Peter Indergand “Genesis 2.0”

Terms of service